Tuesday 1 December 2020


The government has won the vote on its proposals to lock down England in tiers until at least April.  The vote went through 291-78, with less Tory MPs rebelling than expected.  55 Tories rebelled, with the remaining no votes made up of Labour, DUP and independents.  If all opposition MPs had opposed the measures, alongside the 55 Tories, then the government would have lost tonight.

At one point there were barely any MPs on the opposition benches

16 other Conservatives abstained, including Theresa May and Andrea Leadsom.

15 Labour MPs voted against the government, as did eight DUP members (despite the lockdown covering England only).  Two independents currently suspended from their respective parties also opposed the measure - Julian Lewis and Jeremy Corbyn.  The two tellers for the noes are not included in the final tally, but they were Conservatives Steve Baker (Wycombe) and Robert Syms (Poole).

Apart from the 15 noes, every other Labour MP abstained in line with the party whips.  The 15 Labour rebels included eight members of the Socialist Campaign Group, but interestingly most SCG members abstained rather than vote with Corbyn.

During the mammoth debate preceding the vote, Layla Moran indicated that the Lib Dems would oppose the measures, but instead their 11 MPs abstained - including Moran.  Caroline Lucas of the Greens also abstained as did Claudia Webbe, currently suspended from the Parliamentary Labour Party.

After the vote more than half a dozen Tory MPs gathered around Matt Hancock and Boris Johnson, patting each other on the back and ignoring all the restrictions they had just spent six hours explaining were so vital to everyone's safety.

The full list of 78 noes is as follows.

Adam Afriyie (Con, Windsor)
Imran Ahmad Khan (Con, Wakefield)
Graham Brady (Con, Altrincham & Sale West)
Andrew Bridgen (Con, NW Leics)
Paul Bristow (Con, Peterborough)
Christopher Chope (Con, Christchurch)
Greg Clark (Con, Tunbridge Wells)
James Daly (Con, Bury North)
Philip Davies (Con, Shipley)
David Davis (Con, Haltemprice & Howden)
Jonathan Djanogly (Con, Huntingdon)
Jackie Doyle-Price (Con, Thurrock)
Richard Drax (Con, South Dorset)
Iain Duncan-Smith (Con, Chingford & Woodford Green)
Mark Francois (Con, Rayleigh & Wickford)
Marcus Fysh (Con, Yeovil)
Cheryl Gillan (Con, Chesham & Amersham)
Chris Green (Con, Bolton West)
Damian Green (Con, Ashford)
Kate Griffiths (Con, Burton)
Mark Harper (Con, Forest of Dean)
Philip Hollobone (Con, Kettering)
David Jones (Con, Clwyd West)
Julian Knight (Con, Solihull)
Robert Largan (Con, High Peak)
Pauline Latham (Con, Mid-Derbyshire)
Chris Loder (Con, West Dorset)
Tim Loughton (Con, East Worthing & Shoreham)
Craig MacKinlay (Con, South Thanet)
Anthony Mangnall (Con, Totnes)
Karl McCartney (Con, Lincoln)
Stephen McPartland (Con, Stevenage)
Esther McVey (Con, Tatton)
Huw Merriman (Con, Bexhill & Battle)
Robbie Moore (Con, Keighley)
Anne Marie Morris (Con, Newton Abbot)
Robert Neill (Con, Bromley & Chislehurst)
Mark Pawsey (Con, Rugby)
John Redwood (Con, Wokingham)
Mary Robinson (Con, Cheadle)
Andrew Rosindell (Con, Romford)
Henry Smith (Con, Crawley)
Ben Spencer (Con, Runnymede & Weybridge)
Desmond Swayne (Con, New Forest West)
Craig Tracey (Con, North Warks)
Tom Tugendhat (Con, Tonbridge & Malling)
Matt Vickers (Con, Stockton South)
Christian Wakeford (Con, Bury South)
Charles Walker (Con, Broxbourne)
Jamie Wallace (Con, Bridgend)
David Warburton (Con, Somerton & Frome)
William Wragg (Con, Hazel Grove)
Jeremy Wright (Con, Kenilworth & Southam)

Gregory Campbell (DUP, East Londonderry)
Jeffrey Donaldsonn (DUP, Lagan Valley)
Paul Girvan (DUP, South Antrim)
Carla Lockhart (DUP, Upper Bann)
Ian Paisley (DUP, North Antrim)
Gavin Robinson (DUP, Belfast East)
Jim Shannon (DUP, Strangford)
Sammy Wilson (DUP, East Antrim)

Jeremy Corbyn (Ind, Islington North - Labour whip currently withdrawn)
Julian Lewis (Ind, New Forest East - Conservative whip currently withdrawn)

Apsana Begum (Lab, Poplar & Limehouse)
Richard Burgon (Lab, Leeds East)
Mary Kelly Foy (Lab, Durham City)
Andrew Gwynne (Lab, Denton & Reddish)
Mike Hill (Lab, Hartlepool)
Kevan Jones (Lab, North Durham)
Emma Lewell-Buck (Lab, South Shields)
Ian Mearns (Lab, Gateshead)
Grahame Morris (Lab, Easington)
Kate Osborne (Lab, Jarrow)
Bell Ribeiro-Addy (Lab, Streatham)
John Spellar (Lab, Warley)
Graham Stringer (Lab, Blackley & Broughton)
Zarah Sultana (Lab, Coventry South)
Derek Twigg (Lab, Halton)

This result will come as a devastating blow to retail, hospitality and industry - not to mention the general health and well-being of the nation.  There is very little, if anything positive at all to take from this.  Boris Johnson has just lost England.