Monday 8 March 2021


As it's International Women's Day what an ideal time to recognise all the female UK party political leaders, past and present.

Conservatives:  Margaret Thatcher (1975-90), Theresa May (2016-19)
Liberal Democrats:  Jo Swinson (2019)
SNP:  Nicola Sturgeon (2014-present)
Green Party (England & Wales):  Caroline Lucas (2008-12, 2016-18), Natalie Bennett (2012-16), Siân Berry (2018-present)
Scottish Green Party:  Lorna Slater (2019-present)
Plaid Cymru:  Leanne Wood (2012-18)
DUP:  Arlene Foster (2015-present)
SDLP:  Margaret Ritchie (2010-11)
Alliance Party:  Naomi Long (2016-present)
Brexit Party:  Catherine Blaiklock (2019)

UKIP elected a female leader in 2016, but she did not take up the role

Four females entered the last Labour leadership election.  Two of them made the ballot.  A man won (again).