Tuesday 19 November 2019


The chairman of Leicester East Constituency Labour Party quit yesterday with a hilarious resignation letter.  Councillor John Thomas, a Labour veteran of three decades, said he could "no longer follow the clown that leads the Labour Party".  He also lashed out at "Trotskyite" Len McCluskey and the decision to replace outgoing MP Keith Vaz with an Islington councillor.  For the full text click below.

Needless to say, the imposition of London candidates in Midland and northern constituencies has not gone down well in CLPs.

Leicester East candidates

Claudia Webbe (Lab)
Bhupen Dave (Con)
Nitesh Dave (Lib Dem)
Melanie Wakley (Green)
Tara Baldwin (Brexit)
Sanjay Gogia (Ind)

General election 2017 result

Keith Vaz (Lab) 35,116 (67.0%) +5.9%
Edward Yi He (Con) 12,688 (24.2%) +1.2%
Sujata Barot (Ind) 1,753 (3.3%) New
Nitesh Dave (Lib Dem) 1,343 (2.6%) N/c
Melanie Wakley (Green) 1,070 (2.0%) -1.0%
Ian Fox (Ind) 454 (0.9%) New