Saturday 19 October 2019


It's not clear at the moment what the next step will be.  Will the dreaded letter be sent and if not, what then?  What is clear is that despite various MPs arguing that this amendment is not about frustrating Brexit, one only has to look at the reaction of Remainers to it.

Credit where it is due there were six Labour MPs who opposed this amendment.  They were:

Kevin Barron
Ronnie Campbell
Jim Fitzpatrick
Caroline Flint
Kate Hoey
John Mann

Former Labour MPs Ian Austin, Frank Field, Ivan Lewis and John Woodcock also opposed the amendment as did the currently suspended Kelvin Hopkins.

Four Labour MPs abstained, as follows:

Sarah Champion
Rosie Cooper
Melanie Onn
Derek Twigg