Thursday 14 March 2019


Corbyn has tonight lost five members of his front bench over the second referendum amendment.  Ironically the amendment was proposed by Sarah Wollaston of the Independent Group, so one way or another Chuka is still giving his former party a few digs.

The five resignations were all triggered by Labour's cowardly policy of abstention, itself a u-turn on a u-turn.  Having recently come out in support of a second referendum, when it came to it they bottled it.  Or did they?  There are reports tonight that Corbyn and Starmer have held discussions with two backbenchers - Peter Kyle and Phil Wilson - about a deal they have proposed in which Labour would back May's deal in exchange for a second referendum.

The resigning frontbenchers who rebelled against the abstention decision are as follows.

Yvonne Fovargue (Makerfield - 65% Leave)
Emma Lewell-Buck (South Shields - 62% Leave)
Justin Madders (Ellesemere Port & Neston - 58% Leave)
Stephanie Peacock (Barnsley East - 71% Leave)
Ruth Smeeth (Stoke-on-Trent North - 72% Leave)

All five voted to oppose a second referendum.  However, they are not Brexiteers and they have consistently voted to frustrate Brexit in all the other votes this week.  Looking at the Leave votes in their constituencies there are no prizes for guessing why they decided a second referendum was a step too far...