Wednesday 29 January 2020


The Labour leadership election is now officially a three-horse race with Long-Bailey progressing to the ballot alongside Starmer and Nandy.  The Fire Brigades Union endorsed her on Wednesday and sent her through to the ballot a full week after Nandy and nine days after Starmer.  The same union also ensured her hard left counterpart Richard Burgon made it to the ballot for the deputy leadership.  He joins Angela Rayner on the ballot with three others still battling it out.

Emily Thornberry's leadership campaign appears to have stalled, but it's too early to write her off just yet.  Nominations close on February 14.

To qualify candidates for both posts require either 33 nominations from Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs) or 3 nominations from Labour affiliate groups, two of which must be trade unions.  The latest standings are as follows.

Leadership election

Keir Starmer: 57 CLPs + 5 affiliates (qualified)
Lisa Nandy: 14 CLPs + 3 affiliates (qualified)
Rebecca Long-Bailey: 23 CLPs + 3 affiliates (qualified)

Emily Thornberry: 4 CLPs

Deputy leadership election

Angela Rayner: 64 CLPs + 5 affiliates (qualified)
Richard Burgon: 8 CLPs + 3 affiliates (qualified)

Dawn Butler: 14 CLPs + 1 non-union affiliate
Ian Murray: 8 CLPs + 1 non-union affiliate
Rosena Allin-Khan: 4 CLPs