Monday 6 April 2020


Keir Starmer has now completed his reshuffle and there is no place for Jeremy Corbyn in his shadow cabinet.  However, there is a spot for Corbyn's preferred successor Rebecca Long-Bailey.  She takes over from Angela Rayner as Shadow Education Secretary.  New deputy leader Rayner has also been made party chair, replacing Corbyn loyalist Ian Lavery.  Another Corbyn loyalist kicked out today was the hapless Richard Burgon.  In one of Starmer's most eyebrow raising decisions, he has chosen to replace Burgon with another idiot in the form of Dave Lammy.  That should be interesting.

Ed Miliband returns to the front bench, but there are no places for Hilary Benn or Yvette Cooper.  Dawn Butler, Rachel Maskell and Tracy Brabin are among the other MPs who have been sacked.

This is the full line-up.

Keir Starmer, Leader of the Opposition
Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader and Chair of the Labour Party
Anneliese Dodds, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer
Lisa Nandy, Shadow Foreign Secretary
Nick Thomas-Symonds, Shadow Home Secretary
Rachel Reeves, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster - new post
David Lammy, Shadow Justice Secretary - replaces Richard Burgon
John Healey, Shadow Defence Secretary - replaces Nia Griffith
Ed Miliband, Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Secretary - replaces Rebecca Long-Bailey
Emily Thornberry, Shadow International Trade Secretary - replaces Barry Gardiner
Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary - replaces Margaret Greenwood
Rebecca Long-Bailey, Shadow Education Secretary - replaces Angela Rayner
Jo Stevens, Shadow Digital, Culture, Media and Sport - replaces Tracy Brabin
Bridget Philipson, Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury - replaces Peter Dowd
Steve Reed, Shadow Communities and Local Government Secretary - replaces Andrew Gwynne
Thangam Debbonaire, Shadow Housing Secretary - replaces John Healey
Jim McMahon, Shadow Transport Secretary - replaces Andy McDonald
Preet Kaur Gill, Shadow International Development Secretary - replaces Dan Carden
Louise Haigh, Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary - replaces Tony Lloyd
Ian Murray, Shadow Scotland Secretary - replaces Tony Lloyd (was also N Ireland Shadow Sec)
Nia Griffith, Shadow Wales Secretary - replaces Christina Rees
Marsha de Cordova, Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary - replaces Dawn Butler
Andy McDonald, Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary - replaces Rachel Maskell
Rosena Allin-Khan, Shadow Minister for Mental Health - replaces Barbara Keeley
Lord Falconer, Shadow Attorney General - replaces Baroness Chakrabarti

Remaining in their existing posts are the following.

Jonathan Ashworth, Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care
Luke Pollard, Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary
Cat Smith, Shadow Minister for Young People and Voter Engagement
Valerie Vaz, Shadow Leader of the House
Baroness Smith, Shadow Leader of the Lords
Nick Brown, Opposition Chief Whip
Lord McAvoy, Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip